A six-stage pathway for individuals acting in an institutional capacity who have encountered facts, figures or a syllogism directed at their published position. Referral to assessment in two working days.
The pathway is available to individuals acting in an institutional capacity: named officers, spokespeople, principal investigators, accounting officers, board members and those appearing before a committee or a hearing on behalf of a body. Eligibility attaches to the capacity, not to the person.
Private individuals fall outside our commissioning remit and are referred onward to services constituted for them. The referral directory is maintained jointly with three partner bodies and is published.
Referral is appropriate where any of the following has occurred.
| Route | Who initiates | Response | Share of referrals |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional | Employer, sponsor or commissioning body | 4 working hours | 708 of 1,180 (60.0 per cent) |
| Counsel | Legal representative, before or during proceedings | 4 working hours | 330 of 1,180 (28.0 per cent) |
| Self-referral | The affected individual | 4 working hours | 142 of 1,180 (12.0 per cent) |
A referral requires a name, a capacity, and the date of exposure. It does not require the finding itself, and we ask referrers not to send it. Practitioners are not briefed on the material, and independence from the subject matter is a condition of the formulation and of anything issued in citable form.
| Stage | What happens | Duration |
|---|---|---|
| S-01 Intake | Capacity confirmed, exposure dated, key worker assigned | 4 working hours |
| S-02 Assessment | Circumstances of exposure recorded. The finding is not examined. | 2 working days |
| S-03 Formulation | Injury classified against the register. Class notified in writing. | 5 working days |
| S-04 Intervention | Standing work, reframing, drafted response, certified environment | 6 weeks |
| S-05 Review | Position tested against the current state of the public record | 2 weeks |
| S-06 Discharge and aftercare | Care plan closed, quarterly contact maintained | 12 months |
Median time from intake to discharge is 47.5 working days, or 9.5 weeks. An expedited pathway compresses the same six stages into 9 working days and is available where the exposure occurred within 48 hours of a scheduled appearance, a results announcement or a publication date.
Every case has one named key worker for its full duration. Caseload is capped: 41 practitioners currently hold 640 active cases, a mean of 15.6 each. Where a practitioner is at cap, the referral waits rather than being reassigned mid-pathway.
| Class | Injury | Cases | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| EI-01 | Exposure to a statistic without a trigger warning | 259 | 21.9 per cent |
| EI-02 | Unsolicited coherence in a public forum | 141 | 11.9 per cent |
| EI-03 | Being cited accurately, in context | 213 | 18.1 per cent |
| EI-04 | Arithmetic performed on your own published figures | 401 | 34.0 per cent |
| EI-05 | Insistence on a conclusion | 118 | 10.0 per cent |
| EI-06 | Claim that the injury did not occur | 48 | 4.1 per cent |
EI-04 has been the largest class in each of the last three years. It is also the class with the shortest median pathway, at 31 working days, because the material required for the formulation has by definition already been published by the client.
Case records are held under reference and are not disclosed to any third party without written instruction. Class-level data is published in aggregate, as above.
At the client’s request a recognition may be issued in a citable form, with a reference number, for use in proceedings, in correspondence with a regulator, or in a published response. Approximately one in three clients requests this. The citable form states the class, the date of exposure and the fact of recognition. It does not state, and cannot be read as stating, anything about the finding, which the Institute has not examined.
Institutional membership covers unlimited referrals from the retained institution, including expedited pathways, and is priced on headcount in eligible capacities. Non-retained referrals are charged at 2,400 EUR per standard pathway and 8,400 EUR per expedited pathway, which is 3.5 times the standard rate. Counsel referrals are billed to the instructing firm. Self-referrals from individuals in an eligible capacity may apply to the hardship fund, which is funded from membership income and met 39 applications in the last twelve months.
If you are in immediate difficulty. Call the intake line before drafting anything, before replying to correspondence, and before the appearance. Four working hours to a named key worker, at any hour, in any of eleven languages. The exposure has already happened. What has not yet happened is the part we can work on.</div>